The oils
| Oil | As the source prints it | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Olive Oil (virgin / refined / olive oil) | Olive-oil · 675 lb | 30.0 % |
| Coconut Oil | Cocoa-nut oil · 225 lb | 10.0 % |
| Lard (pure rendered pork fat) | Lard · 675 lb | 30.0 % |
| Edible Tallow (beef/mutton dripping) | Tallow · 675 lb | 30.0 % |
How it is made
| Process | Full-boiled |
| Alkali | Not stated |
| Superfat | Not stated |
| Water | as the source states it |
| Iodine value | 58 |
| INS | 143 |
This is a boiled soap. A kettle soap has its excess alkali salted out and drawn off before framing, so the recipe states the alkali charged, never the alkali the bar keeps. Read as a modern cold-process recipe it would be lye-heavy.
What the numbers say
Computed from the fatty acids of the fats above. The bands are what the craft has settled on, not chemistry — a bar outside one is not wrong.
The source
The scan prints the cocoa-nut line as "22S" and the total as "2,260"; 225 and 2,250 are the readings that make the column add up and match the other three formulae. Watt: the cocoa-nut oil "gives the soap a disagreeable odour, although it improves its lather".
Read from the Internet Archive OCR of the Cornell University Library copy. Page numbers are taken from OCR'd running headers and may be one out where the header digits were damaged.
Read from a scan rather than a proofread transcription, so the figures are checked against the book’s own printed total where it prints one.