Cupuaçu Butter
INCI Theobroma Grandiflorum Seed Butter. Also: Cupuassu Butter, Cupuassu Seed Fat, Theobroma Grandiflorum Seed Butter.
Published values
| Saponification value | 190.92–190.92 mg KOH/g |
| Used by the calculator | 190.9 mg KOH/g (midpoint) |
| SAP for NaOH | 0.1361 g/g |
| Iodine value | 74.3–74.3 g I₂/100 g |
| INS (SAP − IV) | 117 |
| Melting point | 30–30 °C |
| Unsaponifiable matter | — |
A bar made of 100 % Cupuaçu Butter
Conventional qualities summed from the fatty-acid groups; a single-oil bar is a reference point, not a recipe.
Fatty-acid profile
| Fatty acid | Published range, % | Used | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lauric acid | C12:0 · saturated | 0.65–0.65 | 0.7 |
| Myristic acid | C14:0 · saturated | 0.28–0.28 | 0.3 |
| Palmitic acid | C16:0 · saturated | 7.51–8 | 7.8 |
| Stearic acid | C18:0 · saturated | 31.78–32.7 | 32.2 |
| Oleic acid | C18:1 | 40–40.6 | 40.3 |
| Linoleic acid | C18:2 | 5.28–5.28 | 5.3 |
| α-Linolenic acid | C18:3 n-3 | 11.56–11.56 | 11.6 |
| Arachidic acid | C20:0 · saturated | 0.29–10.4 | 5.3 |
| Behenic acid | C22:0 · saturated | 2.05–2.05 | 2.0 |
Where these numbers come from
Table 1: saponification value, iodine value, and full fatty-acid composition (lauric through behenic) for cupuassu seed fat (CSF), all directly measured by this study via GC and standard wet-chemistry methods; also gives SFA/MUFA/PUFA subtotals that internally cross-check against the individual fatty acid values.
Abstract only (full PDF not accessible to me): major fatty acids oleic 40.0%, stearic 32.7%, arachidic 10.4%, palmitic 8.0%, of 9 total FAs detected by GC. Used as a cross-check on da Silva et al. 2023; flags the arachidic-acid discrepancy.
Producer page states melting point approx. 30C and butter yield approx. 45% from seeds; no SAP/iodine/fatty-acid percentages given on this page.
SAP (190.92 mg KOH/g) and iodine (74.30 g I2/100g) are da Silva et al. 2023 Table 1 directly-measured values for one study's samples (GC for fatty acids; standard titration for SAP/iodine), not a stated commercial range, so real batch-to-batch spread is likely wider than shown. Fatty acids combine da Silva et al. 2023 (full 9-acid profile) with Yanes et al. 2017 (Orbital journal, abstract only: oleic 40.0%, stearic 32.7%, arachidic 10.4%, palmitic 8.0%, out of 9 total FAs detected but not all listed in the accessible abstract). Oleic/stearic/palmitic agree reasonably (~40/32-33/7.5-8%) between the two studies, but arachidic acid diverges sharply (0.29% da Silva vs 10.4% Yanes) - flagged as an open discrepancy, not resolved by a third primary source. da Silva's alpha-linolenic figure (11.56%) is unusually high for a seed butter; Yanes' abstract does not report linolenic so it neither confirms nor contradicts this; other (unopened, not independently verified by me) secondary literature suggests cupuaçu linolenic may typically run much lower (~0.4%), so treat 11.56% with caution pending a third opened primary source before relying on it for formulation math. Melting point (~30C, no range given) is from Amazon Oil's own producer page (amazonoil.com.br), a Brazilian butter/oil producer - not cross-checked against a peer-reviewed source. Unsaponifiable matter: checked da Silva et al. 2023 (not reported), Yanes et al. 2017 abstract (not reported), and Amazon Oil's producer page (not reported) - left null, no allowed source located.
This record is part of the open ingredient database (ODbL). Found an error or a better primary source? The dataset is on GitHub; corrections with a document link are welcome.